top of page

The Teton Mountains: Everything You Need to Know

The Teton Mountains are one of the most iconic mountain ranges in the United States. Located in northwest Wyoming, the Teton Mountains are known for their dramatic peaks, deep valleys, and grand views. With over 200 named peaks, these mountains offer a variety of outdoor activities, including hiking, camping, climbing, skiing, and more. They are well-known for their striking appearance and as a mecca for rock climbers who often come to scale the Grand Teton or complete the Teton Traverse.

The Tetons

An Introduction to the Teton Mountain Range

The Teton Mountain Range, also known as The Tetons, is a beautiful mountain range located in the state of Wyoming in the United States. The Teton Mountains are well-known for their spectacular views and majestic peaks. The tallest peak in the range is Grand Teton, which stands at 13,775 feet. Other notable mountains in the range include Mount Moran, Mount Owen, Teewinot Mountain, and the South Teton.

The Teton Range is home to a variety of wildlife, including elk, moose, bighorn sheep, marmots, and pikas. There are also a number of popular trails and scenic spots that provide plenty of opportunities to explore the range. In addition, the area has been designated as a National Park since 1929, protecting the natural beauty of the Teton Mountains.

Notable Mountains in the Teton Range

The Teton Mountain Range is home to some of the most iconic peaks in the United States. Perhaps the most famous mountain in the range is Grand Teton, which towers at an elevation of 13,775 feet above sea level. Grand Teton is a prominent peak that can be seen from miles away and it's one of the most popular destinations for climbers and hikers in the area.

The Tetons in the fall
The Tetons in the fall

Other notable peaks in the Teton Mountain Range include Mount Moran, which has an elevation of 12,605 feet, and Teewinot Mountain, which stands at an impressive 12,325 feet. The Cathedral Group is another prominent feature in the range and is comprised of four major peaks including The Grand, Mount Owen, Teewinot Mountain, and Mount Moran.

In addition to these higher peaks, there are many smaller mountains in the Teton Mountain Range such as Buck Mountain, Mount Wister, Bivouac Peak, Nez Perce Peak, and Static Peak. All of these mountains contribute to the beauty of the Tetons and provide stunning views of the range from various vantage points.

Teton Range Mountains

Here are a few of the most important mountains in the Teton Range, described in more detail:

  • The Grand Teton: the impressive summit of the Teton Mountain range. It reaches an elevation of 13,775' and is the second-tallest mountain in Wyoming. The mountain was first climbed in 1870 and gives its name to Grand Teton National Park.

  • Mount Owen: is the second-tallest Teton Mountain peak. It reaches just under 13,000' and is named for the first person to have documented their ascent of the Grand Teton (also known as "The Grand").

  • Mount Moran: another Teton Mountain Range peak that reaches 12,610'. It was named for the famed American landscape artist, Thomas Moran. It is known for its very difficult approach, meaning that it is climbed far less often than the mountains around it.

  • Buck Mountain: is another impressive Teton mountain. It reaches 11,943' and is a common sight when visiting towns like Jackson Hole, Wyoming. The mountain was first climbed in 1898 by the same man, T.M. Bannon, who also claimed the first ascent of Mount Borah, the tallest mountain in the state of Idaho.

  • Mount Wister: reaches a height of 11,495' and was first climbed in 1928. The mountain is far less often the goal of climbers and hikers than the Grand Teton is.

Fun Facts and Stats About the Teton Mountains

The Teton Mountain Range is a 40-mile-long mountain range located in northwestern Wyoming and southeastern Idaho. This mountain range was named after the French word for “big teats,” as the mountains appear to look like breasts when viewed from a distance. The highest point in the range is Grand Teton, which stands at 13,770 feet.

The Teton Mountains are one of the youngest mountain ranges in the Rocky Mountains and are composed of sedimentary rocks that have been uplifted and deformed by several episodes of glaciation.

In addition, many of the peaks are connected by long ridges, including the spectacular Cathedral Group ridge, which runs nearly 10 miles across the range. It includes the tallest mountains in the range (pictured below). Many are pyramidal in shape, like the Grand Teton and hold the Teton Mountains' last glaciers.

The Tetons in Spring
The Tetons in spring

The Teton Mountains have long been a popular destination for mountaineers and recreationists alike. They offer a wide variety of activities, such as hiking, rock climbing, skiing, and fishing. The area is also home to an abundance of wildlife, including bighorn sheep, moose, grizzly bears, wolves, and wolverines.

In addition to its natural beauty, the Teton Mountains also boast a rich cultural history. In 1872, President Ulysses S. Grant established Yellowstone National Park, which includes parts of the Teton Mountains. Later, in 1950, Grand Teton National Park was established in order to preserve the unique beauty of the Teton Mountains and surrounding region.

Today, the Teton Mountain Range continues to be a major tourist attraction and is one of the most popular destinations in the United States for outdoor recreation. It's estimated that over 2 million visitors come to the area every year to experience its breathtaking scenery and vibrant wildlife.

The tetons at Sunset
The Teton peaks at sunset

The History of the Teton Mountain Range

The range has been home to humans for thousands of years, beginning with Native American tribes who populated the area and called it "hovenweep," meaning "high, isolated land."

The first Europeans to explore the region were led by John Colter, a fur trapper who explored the area in 1808. In 1829, William Clark of the Lewis and Clark expedition gave the mountains their current name, “Tetons” (derived from a French word meaning “breasts”).

The Teton Mountain Range
A good view of the Teton Mountain Range

In the late 1800s, the area began to see an influx of settlers. The Homestead Act of 1862 granted citizens the opportunity to claim up to 160 acres of free land. This period also saw an increase in tourism to the area, as people came to marvel at the incredible natural beauty of the Teton Mountain Range.

Today, the Teton Mountain Range continues to be a popular destination for visitors. In 1950, Grand Teton National Park was established, protecting much of the range’s iconic peaks and valleys. Today, visitors come to experience the breathtaking views and partake in a variety of recreational activities like hiking, camping, fishing, and skiing.

Where to Stay

If you’re planning a visit to the Teton Mountain Range, you’ll have plenty of options when it comes to where to stay. The towns closest to the Tetons are Jackson, Wilson, and Moose, which offer a variety of lodging options ranging from cozy cabins to luxury resorts.

The Grand Teton
A closer view of the majestic peaks of the Tetons

Jackson is known for its plethora of shops, restaurants, and galleries, while Wilson provides a more peaceful atmosphere with plenty of outdoor activities and stunning views of the Tetons. Moose, on the other hand, is the perfect destination for those looking for a more remote experience.

You Might Also Like

Pin to Share:

Teton Mountain Range Travel Guide

bottom of page