top of page

Major Mountain Ranges in India: The Himalayas, Aravallis, and Vindhyas

India is home to some of the world's most stunning mountain ranges, from the highest peak in the world, Mount Everest, to the lesser-known but equally impressive ranges. The three major mountain ranges in India are the Himalayas, the Aravallis, and the Vindhyas. Each of these mountain ranges boasts unique characteristics and offers breathtaking views for travelers and adventurers alike.

In this blog post, we will explore each of these mountain ranges in India, learning about their history, geography, and importance to the country.

Indian Mountain ranges

Indian Mountain Ranges Overview

India is a vast country, with mountain ranges crisscrossing the landscape. The three main mountain ranges in India are the Himalayas, the Aravallis, and the Vindhyas.

  • The Himalayas are the world’s highest mountain range, located in northern India and extending into Tibet. It is home to some of the world’s highest peaks, including Mount Everest. The Himalayas provide a great variety of climates and biodiversity and are home to many endangered species.

  • The Aravallis are an ancient mountain range located in western India. They are among the oldest mountain ranges on earth and provide important habitats for wildlife. The Aravallis are also home to some of India’s oldest archaeological sites, such as Ranthambore National Park.

  • The Vindhyas are a group of mountains in central India. They form a major watershed between the Ganges and the Narmada rivers and are known for their wildlife-rich forests. The Vindhyas is also home to a number of Hindu temples, which are pilgrimage destinations for Hindus from all over India.

The mountain ranges of India make up an important part of the country's landscape and ecology. They provide a diverse range of habitats for wildlife, and their ancient cultural sites and pilgrimage destinations draw visitors from all around the world.

The Himalayas

The Himalayas are one of the most renowned mountain ranges in India, stretching across 5 countries. It is the highest mountain range in the world, with an average elevation of 6,000 meters. The Himalayan range spans over 2,400 kilometers and runs across India, Nepal, Bhutan, Tibet, and Pakistan. In fact, some of the most famous mountains in the world are in Nepal.

Himalayan View
An incredible view of the Himalayan Mountains

In India, the Himalayas are located along the northern border, running from Jammu and Kashmir in the west to Arunachal Pradesh in the east. Many of India’s tallest peaks can be found within this range, including Mount Everest (8,848m), Nanda Devi (7,816m), Kanchenjunga (8,586m), Makalu (8,485m), and Dhaulagiri (8,167m), some of the most dangerous mountains in the world. These mountains form part of a system of mountain ranges that constitute the Indian mountain ranges.

The Himalayan Mountains in India
The Himalayan Mountains in India

The Himalayas are home to some of India’s most spectacular natural beauty, as well as diverse flora and fauna. The range is also known for its ancient Buddhist monasteries and unique culture. Trekking through the Himalayas is a popular activity among tourists and mountaineers. The mountains also provide stunning views of some of the world's most impressive natural landscapes.

Nubra Valley, India
The Himalayan Mountains in Nubra Valley, India

The Aravallis

The Aravallis is one of the mountain ranges in India and is located in the western part of the country. It stretches from Gujarat across Rajasthan and into Haryana and Delhi. The mountain range is approximately 800 km (497 mi) long and 40 to 100 km (25 to 62 mi) wide.

Aravalli Mountain Range
A view of the Aravalli Mountain Range

The highest peak in the Aravallis is Mount Abu which stands at 1,722 m (5,650 ft). Other notable peaks in this mountain range include Guru Shikhar, Mount Gulab Khana, and Kavdi Peak.

Many of the mountains within the Aravallis are rich in biodiversity and are home to a number of protected species. The area is also known for its many temples and shrines, including Dilwara Jain Temple, which is considered one of the most beautiful Jain temples in the world.

Aravalli Mountains
Aravalli Mountains at sunset

The Aravallis mountain range is an important part of India's culture, history, and biodiversity. The range offers breathtaking views of the surrounding area and provides many recreational opportunities for those who wish to explore the Indian mountain ranges.

Araavali Mountain View
An expansive view of the Araavali Mountains

The Vindhyas

The Vindhyas is one of the major mountain ranges in India, extending from the Eastern Satpura range to the Eastern Ghats. It's also known as the Vindhyachal. This range extends across several states, including Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Uttar Pradesh, Maharashtra, Gujarat, and Orissa. On average, mountains are no higher than around 900 feet.

In the hills near Vindhya
A view near the Vindhya Hills

The Vindhyas mountain range is home to a number of significant mountains, such as the Maikala Range (usually considered to be a separate range with taller peaks), Churhat Plateau, Panna Plateau, and Sonbhadra Plateau. Notable peaks in this mountain range include Kaimur Hills in Uttar Pradesh, Jhilimili hills in Madhya Pradesh, Rajpipla Hills in Gujarat, and Mahendragiri hills in Odisha.

This Indian mountain range is known for its unique flora and fauna, with a variety of plants and animals that are found nowhere else in the world. This range provides crucial habitat to various species of birds, mammals, and reptiles. The Vindhyas mountain range also has numerous pilgrimage sites and tourist spots scattered throughout its length, attracting thousands of visitors each year.

You Might Also Like

bottom of page